skip to primary navigationskip to content


Biomedical and Sensing

Prof. Ali Khademhosseini

KhadhemAli Khademhosseini is Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Director of the Biomaterials Innovation Research Center at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He is also a faculty at the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology as well as an Associate Faculty at the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering. He is recognized as a leader in combining micro- and nano-engineering approaches with advanced biomaterials for regenerative medicine applications. He is a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor given by the US government for early career investigators. In 2016, he received the Sr. Scientist Award of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine Society -Americas Chapter (TERMIS-AM) and in 2017 he received the Clemson Award of the Society for Biomaterials.

Fundamental Research

Prof. Kirill Bolotin

BolotinDr. Kirill Bolotin received his undergraduate degree from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology and his PhD from Cornell University. His thesis work was focused on developing metal-nanoparticle single-electron transistors and studying the quantum analog of anisotropic magnetoresistance. He then became a postdoctoral scientist at Columbia University where he discovered the approaches to fabricate ultrahigh mobility graphene and found the Fractional Quantum Hall effect in graphene. Bolotin was assistant and associate professor of Physics at Vanderbilt University (2009-2015), and is currently professor at Freie Universitat Berlin. The Bolotin group explores how the quasiparticles in two-dimensional materials are affected by the mechanical stretching of these materials, the environment around them, and by the ultra-strong electrical fields at their surface. Bolotin was awarded the NSF Career, the Sloan foundation, and the ERC starting grant awards

Prof. Francisco Guinea

guineaProfessor Francisco Guinea received his B.Sc from the University of Complutense, Madrid. In 1980 he went on to compete a PhD from the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM) where he then became an Assistant Professor. He was made a Fullbright scholar at the Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of California Santa Barbara before heading back to UAM. From 1984 – 2014 he worked first as a researcher then senior researcher at the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC). He now splits his time between the University of Manchester and IMDEA Nanoscience. In 2013 Guinea was awarded the Spanish Physical Society Medal, the highest award given by the society and he was also recently appointed to the National Academy of Sciences as a foreign member. Guinea has an extensive record of scientific contributions in many topics in condensed matter and statistical physics. He has made seminal contributions in topics such as macroscopic quantum mechanics, pattern formation, magnetism, and the theory of superconductivity and strongly correlated systems. In recent times he has been doing research in graphene and other two dimensional materials, where he is one of the leading theoreticians worldwide.

Solutions Phase Processing

Prof. Clare Grey

Clare Grey

Prof. Clare Grey is a chemist and expert in the application to materials of nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR). In particular, she uses NMR to study rechargeable lithium-ion batteries (LIB) and their potential for use in energy storage applications that benefit the environment. Clare investigates the effect of local structure and electronic properties on LIB performance and is testing wider applications of the technology. Her work has introduced LIBs for use in combination with new renewable energy sources and to the field of transportation. Clare’s research has been recognised with several awards, including the Günther Laukien prize in 2013, and the Davy Medal of the Royal Society in 2014.

Dr Cinzia Casiraghi

Cinzi Casiraghi photo

Dr Cinzia Casiraghi is a new appointed Lecturer at the School of Chemistry and Photon Science Institute. She was born in Milan, where she studied Nuclear Engineering. She then moved to UK, where she took her PhD in Electrical Engineering at Cambridge University. In 2005 she was awarded with an Oppenheimer Early Career Research Fellowship to continue her research at Cambridge. Her research interest mainly focuses in optical characterisation of carbon-based materials, such as nanotubes and graphene. She is now broadening her interests into plasmonics and biotechnology.

 H-F Electronics


Prof. Jan Stake

Jan Stake received an M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. degree in microwave electronics from Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden, in 1994 and 1999, respectively.  From 2000 to 2006, he held various academic positions with Chalmers University of Technology, and from 2003 to 2006, he was also the Head of the Nanofabrication Laboratory, Department of Microtechnology and Nanoscience (MC2). He is currently Professor and Head of the Terahertz and Millimetre Wave Laboratory at Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden. He is also cofounder of Wasa Millimeter Wave AB, Göteborg, Sweden. His research involves graphene electronics, high-frequency semiconductor devices, THz electronics, submillimeter wave measurement techniques (“THz metrology”), and THz applications in biology and medicine. Prof. Stake serves as Editor-in-Chief for IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology